Colossians 3:12-13

“Therefore as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another”.

Compassion: a feeling of deep sympathy and sorrow for another who is stricken with misfortune, accompanied by a strong desire to alleviate the suffering.
Kindness: being kind, a kind act, kind behavior, friendly feeling.
Humility: modest opinion or estimate of one’s importance, rank, etc.
Gentleness: kindly, amiable; not severe, rough, or violent.
Patience: bearing provocation, annoyance, misfortune, or pain; without complaint, loss of temper, irritation, etc. Suppress restlessness or annoyance when confronted with delay. Quiet, steady perseverance.
Forgive: to grant pardon or remission of an offense, debt, etc. To give up all claim on account of (debt, obligation). To cease to feel resentment against; to forgive ones enemies, to cancel an indebtedness or liability.
 

I don’t know about you, but this is one of the hardest aspects of living in Christian faith with a community of fellow human beings. With all of our flaws and personality differences I find this is one of the challenges that most divides a church the Church. If we could grasp, embrace, and live this one passage each day – our world would truly be a different place. If I could grasp, embrace, and live this one passage each day – my world would truly be a different place.

Father, I ask for Your mind and Spirit to fill me with the strength I need to live this out today. I trust that You have all things in my best interest whether I understand them or not, and that someday I will understand some of the hurtful things I have done to others, and that others have done to me. I love You and want to serve You all the days of my life! ~Amen

Leave a Reply

