Monthly Archives: August 2011

The Quiet Place – Breaking Free From Depression

Sometimes life just hurts too bad to express it in words…so we reach out to others for hope. I surfed across a blog by John Krohn tonight that I trust will bring you hope if you’re feeling hopeless today.

Blessings to you friend!


I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13


“Prayer” by Joan Y on Flickr

If you think you are beaten–you are.

If you think you dare not–you don’t.

If you want to win but think you can’t,

It is almost a cinch you won’t.

If you think you’ll lose–you’ve lost.

For out in the world we find

That success begins with a fellow’s will;

It’s all in the state of mind.

Life’s battles don’t always go

To the stronger or faster man;

But sooner or later the man who wins

Is the one who thinks he can.

Author Unknown

More Prayer Cards…

I uploaded more prayer cards to my Flickr account. You can click on one of the pics at the bottom right of my page here. Thanks for looking!

5 Stages of Grief

Dr. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross has named five stages of grief people go through following a serious loss. Sometimes people get stuck in one of the first four stages. Their lives can be painful until they move to the fifth stage – acceptance.

  1. Denial and Isolation.
    At first, we tend to deny the loss has taken place, and may withdraw from our usual social contacts. This stage may last a few moments, or longer.
  2. Anger.
    The grieving person may then be furious at the person who inflicted the hurt (even if she’s dead), or at the world, for letting it happen. He may be angry with himself for letting the event take place, even if, realistically, nothing could have stopped it.
  3. Bargaining.
    Now the grieving person may make bargains with God, asking, “If I do this, will you take away the loss?”
  4. Depression.
    The person feels numb, although anger and sadness may remain underneath.
  5. Acceptance.
    This is when the anger, sadness and mourning have tapered off. The person simply accepts the reality of the loss.

At some point in our lives, each of us faces the loss of someone or something dear to us. The grief that follows such a loss can seem unbearable, but grief is actually a healing process. Grief is the emotional suffering we feel after a loss of some kind. The death of a loved one, loss of a limb, even intense disappointment can cause grief.

A flier from the Year Zero alternate reality game distributed in Los Angeles.

Unmet Spiritual Needs

Satan’s ultimate lie is that you are capable of being the god of your own life, and his ultimate bondage is getting you to live as though his lie is true.  Satan is out to usurp God’s place in your life. And whenever you live independently of God, focusing on yourself instead of the cross, preferring material and temporal values to spiritual and eternal values, he has succeeded. The world’s solution to this conflict of identity is to inflate the ego while denying God the opportunity to take His rightful place as Lord. Satan couldn’t be more pleased–that was his plan from the beginning.

Daily in Christ, Neil Anderson – July 15